Our Everyday Routine

Routine is necessary during the week in our house when it’s just Sophia and I. Every now and then, she’ll sleep in the morning until 9:30 and throw the whole routine out of whack, but for the most part, she stays pretty on track. (Ha! I rhymed!) This routine helps ensure that both Sophia and I have a good day, and most importantly, that she stays happy. I’m a stay at home mom, so she doesn’t get the interaction that a toddler in daycare would get. We try to have 2 play dates per week, and then I try and leave the house at some point every day to either run errands or take her for a drive. She inherited my extreme cabin fever – I need to leave the house every day or I start to go a little crazy.

As for our routine, here it is!

  • We start our day anywhere between 7:30 – 8:30am (sometimes 9:30 when Sophia is feeling generous!) But usually around 8am is wakeup time.
  • Come downstairs.
  • Mommy gets coffee, Sophia gets milk, obviously.

routine 2

  • Play time for Sophia is usually from 8:30-9:30, and then she walks me to the kitchen, asks me to open the refrigerator door, and points to the eggs.
  • 9:30ish is breakfast which lately has been scrambled eggs + fruit.

routine5

  • During her breakfast, I usually wash any dishes, load the dishwasher, and put a load of laundry in the washer.
  • 10-11am is more play time, but most importantly, Sofia the First is on.

routine6

  • Around 11am, she wants more milk. So while she has milk, I take that time to go upstairs and get myself ready for the day. Most days, it takes about 15 minutes. I’m extremely grateful at how well she plays on her own. It definitely makes getting things done during the day much more manageable.
  • If we have errands to run, we’re usually out of the house by 11:30.  She understands when I ask her to get her shoes, and she sits on my lap. If I say we’re going out, she waves to the inside of the house and stands by the door.

routine3

  • So usually 11:30-1:30ish is our “out of the house” time. I schedule all of our appointments, play dates and errands during this time slot. We usually come back before 1pm though, so we can have lunch at home, unless we eat lunch out on the rare occasion.
  • Anytime between 1-2pm, Sophia goes down for her 2 hour nap.

routine11

  • FREEEEEEEEEDOMMMMM!!!!
  • Depending on the time she goes down, I usually have complete silence in the house until 3:30-4:30pm. It’s amazing.
  • Between 5-5:30pm, we have dinner. That can consist of anything, really. She pretty much eats anything. But as for order, we start with some sort of meat, and then head into veggies and then fruit to finish it off.
  • Jason gets home around 6pm usually, so Sophia has an extreme play/cuddle/tackle time session with daddy. 

routine8

(She even needs to sit with him while he does homework, she’s a total daddy’s girl)

  • On the days that he has college classes at night, I take Sophia outside for a walk. Her favorite as of lately is to walk by herself, but when mommy needs exercise,  I put her in the jogger and we go for a run. Any amount of outside time makes her exhausted, win!

routine10

  • 7pm rolls around and it’s time to get ready for bed. Some nights include a bath beforehand, but most nights, just pajamas and milk and I put her upstairs. This girl loves her crib. Once she’s in, she stands up and waves goodnight to me and shouts something along the lines of “see ya, love you” and she’s down for the count.

20140209_185218

routine9 

(Drinking her milk, boss style)

And that’s our normal routine! When Jason is home on the weekends, it’s obviously a bit more loose because I have help.

What’s your every day routine?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s